Home > Uncategorized > The Hot Dog Bun of Epic Proportions

The Hot Dog Bun of Epic Proportions


A lifetime first!

I was just witness to a store-bought hot dog bun that wasn’t pre-sliced/cut! To clarify, I’d previously purchased a pack of hot dog buns, brought them home, and put them out for dinner.  Surely this must have cultural meaning: health, wealth, happiness?

Find a hot dog bun without a cut, and all year long you’ll have no doors shut.

Alas, I made the fatal mistake of cutting it open with a steak knife.  Man, and you’d think I would’ve taken the time to snap a picture!  I feel bad about that, about not having taken some photos first, as evidence.  Now, nobody will believe me or my good fortune!

I told some friends about it.  Feedback I received on it included:

“It was a sign. You knifed the sign!!! Omgosh”

Yes.  Oh dear.  I should’ve kept it.  Then promptly sold it on eBay for $15k.

Of course, one of my practical friends chimed in and said:

“It just means that someone in QC wasn’t doing their job….”

And some other cool feedback received was:

“Nooo it was a sign from Hot Dog Heaven! Now it’s gone forever.”

Leaving me to my obvious conclusion, and thus obvious reaction:

Awwww, sob, sob, sniffle!
(drops to both knees, looks up to the ceiling and declares, “NOOOOOOOOOOO!”

  1. CrazyGirl1969
    June 3, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    LOL… what a cute story!! :))

    • June 3, 2012 at 5:54 pm

      Thank you so much CrazyGirl!

  2. June 3, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    I had one of those and I tried to cut it open with my hands but I made a mess and ended up with a hotdog sandwich.

    • June 3, 2012 at 11:40 pm

      I started with my hands initially, thinking I just wasn’t finding the opening, but upon further inspection I decided it best to use a knife to cut it open. So much neater than trying to do it by hand.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

